Click on image to enlarge

Item number: P2007.124

This local liquorice tin's design must have been commissioned by a company who felt the need to enhance the appearance of the ruins. An extra tower has been added on the right and three 'windows' make the keep more interesting. The only 'window' visible from the west was the result of the Victorians' attempt to make a 'picturesque' view of the distant spire of St Giles. For this, they happily sacrificed the archaeology by knocking a hole through the remaining wall. The weakened structure later collapsed. [The finials of the octagonal tower of All Saints have been turned into a very European looking spire - The church would not be visible from this angle]
Hillabys Ltd
Date: 1910